5 MINUTE REVIEWS………

The Idea of Yo

What a wonderful book! It’s absolutely perfect to show the raw deal that mothers (and fathers!) have in today’s hectic society and how they tend to be torn between doing what the world tells them they should be doing and actually doing what they think themselves.
The writing style is beautiful and makes the tale very poignant at times. I have to admit to grabbing tissues on a couple of occasions because I have been there and done that and it was totally relatable to me and my life.
Overall, this was an excellent book, really well written, and I’ll definitely be looking out for the author again. 4.5 Stars for this one!

 

The Woman in The Wood

Absolutely loved this book which isn’t a surprise as I’ve been a fan of this author since I was in my late teens! The Woman in the Wood was a different to Lesley’s previous works, in my opinion; the storyline wasn’t what I expected when I first picked up the book and the writing style seemed slightly different to her usual style…..but in a good way! I would definitely recommend to all fans of Historical Fiction set around the war years and just after. I gave The Woman in the Wood 4 stars out of 5 🙂

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index

What can I say about this one? I honestly wasn’t sure about Juniper Lemon in the first few page. It gave me a vibe of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places and I really wasn’t a fan of that book (sorry to anyone whos a fan!)……within a couple of chapters, however, I was hooked. I loved the main characters (Nathan and Brand were THE best YA boy characters I’ve ‘met’ in a while) and I really began to feel for Juniper as she tried her best to keep the memory of her sister alive in her world. I *do* think that fans of All the Bright Places and TFIOS would enjoy this one yet it’s original enough for any non fans to pick up and enjoy. 4 Stars for this one

Hush Little Baby

Woah!
This was such a well written book that I actually felt as though I were holding my breath the entire time. I read it in one sitting because I seriously could not put this book down!
The characters are very strong and believable and the description of the medics, social services etc seemed completely true to life so I’m pretty sure that Joanna Barnard thoroughly researched this before putting pen to paper. I can honestly say that, even wracking my brain throughout, I just couldn’t pin down what had actually happened to Oliver……..then the plot twist blew me away.

This definitely gave me similar feelings to those I experienced with another domestic suspense book, B A Paris’ Behind Closed Doors and I’m sure that anyone who enjoys this genres will count this one up there with the best