The Gifted – Matthew Dickerson

2016-02-14_1455466482

45c48-four-stars– Great writing skill and world building!!

Ok so it took me a while to get around to this as I have a stack of review books a mile high, but I finally started it the other day and it took around three days in all to read. I have to start by saying that I’m not a fan of fantasy (with the exception of HP and PJO, of course!). The only high fantasy fiction that I’ve enjoyed in the past was The Hobbit. I’ve attempted Got and ToG and LOTR numerous times but got too confused with the strange character/place names. In this book, the world building is definitely explained. In too much detail, sometimes! It meant that the first part of the book seemed to be prolonged and drawn-out and I was waiting on the action to start. Don’t get me wrong, a lot of people would appreciate the excessive detail, it’s just not my cup of tea, as such. Saying that, once the book did get going, I began to get invested in the storyline. I found Elynna to be quite a good female lead and I enjoyed seeing her character develop page by page.
As I said at the start, this really isn’t my genre but I was able to see Dickerson’s excellent writing skills throughout and it was this that kept me reading until the final page. He definitely has a way with words which is entertaining to the reader and I could appreciate this. I would imagine that GoT and ToG fans would devour this book and take far more out of it than I did. As it is, I’m still giving the book 4 stars because of the work that’s gone into the world-building and because of the excellent writing skills. This was the first book in Dickerson’s Daegmon War series. If you’re a fan of fantasy – go and pick a copy up!

 

Leave a Reply

